PDA

View Full Version : Item Analysis

Teach
03-17-2015, 02:16 PM
Item Analysis

Aqueduct. Belmont. Saratoga. Finger Lakes. Santa Anita. But also Mahoning Valley, Delta Downs, Fonner, plus harness tracks like Freehold, Monticello, Saratoga, Yonkers and The Meadowlands.

When I was a high school history teacher here in Massachusetts and on Long Island, NY, I would occasionally do what I called an “Item Analysis”. “Item analysis. What’s that you ask?”

Well, periodically, I’d evaluate the individual questions I gave on a unit-exam tests. Oh, there were objective questions like multiple choice, matching, fill-ins, etc., but also subjective questions like essays and what I called ‘interpretative thinking’ paragraphs.

Yes, it was time consuming to do this evaluation, but it allowed me to get an overall view of how my students, as a group, were doing on my test questions. What I was particularly looking for were questions that the students, again, as a group, did poorly on.

When I identified those questions, I would then ask myself: “Did I effectively teach that material?” Or, “Had I properly worded the question?” Sometimes, after the evaluation, I would scrap a question entirely. Or, at the very least, I would re-word it, or find an alternative way to ask it.

What does all have to do with pari-mutuel horse-race wagering?
Well, most ADWs will give you a section that you can access that shows your ROIs and plus-minus wagering history. Just like my teaching days with “item analysis,” you can do your own item analyses of your wagering activities at the tracks you bet on.