PDA

View Full Version : "Keep Your Eye On The Prize": A Porter At A Boston Dept. Store.

Teach
03-04-2015, 04:37 PM
The graffiti on the wall said: "This place is condemned by 'Drunkin' Hines'". As far as I was concerned, the message was the absolutely true. But I knew what I needed to do: "Keep My Eyes On The Prize."

In the early 1960s, when I was a student at Boston University, I held various jobs; yet, the one I'll probably remember the most will be the one I took as a porter at Gilchrist's Department Store, then at the corner of Boston's Washington and Winter Streets.

As I recall, that May, I had just completed my sophomore year in college at BU's School of Education. I quickly needed to find a full-time summer job to supplement my part-time job as a clerk at a local drug store. I would need to earn about $1,000 dollars between late-May and early-September before I began my fall semester courses. I would need that money to pay my tuition. I remember that the job pickings that spring were quite slim.

Well, I decided to apply for a job as a porter at Gilchrist's, a downtown Boston dept. store. I was hired at a rate of $1.20 an hour. I remember going to work that following Monday.

I would soon settle into a routine in my 8 a.m to 5 p.m. job (I would also go to work at the drug store one or two nights a week, plus one or two weekend days).

Well, I remember that we were given time-cards. We would enter the Winter St. employee entrance to have them punched. The lady who did the punching looked like she had been with the store since Gilchrist's had opened decades earlier.

My first job, as I recall, was to clean around the root beer stand in the store's basement level. Talk about sticky. The residue on the counter and the floor around the stand would later remind me of super-glue. Next, I would check the men's latrine. Usually, the latrine was clean, but if it weren't, I needed to get a mop and cleanser to make sure everything was spic 'n span.