PDA

View Full Version : Parx racing surface

tlinetrader
01-18-2015, 08:03 AM
Hey all. I've been playing PARX for the last 9 months or so and have noticed a substantial decrease in my speed figures since mid November pretty much across the board. Is this a seasonal winter thing that happens every year or is there something else going on there?

Ruffian1
01-18-2015, 08:21 AM
Hey all. I've been playing PARX for the last 9 months or so and have noticed a substantial decrease in my speed figures since mid November pretty much across the board. Is this a seasonal winter thing that happens every year or is there something else going on there?

While never stabling there, at Md. tracks, every late October they start winterizing the track. They import a large quantity of mixed sand. They add cushion so they have more cushion to work with , and chemicals to help slow down the freezing process. They add it slowly over a few weeks . That is almost assuredly what happened there. Same with Aqueduct and C.T.for sure and I assume Penn as well as other cold weather tracks.

This is also prime time with that added cushion and dramatic weather swings , to find biases. Because they can only grade the track at certain times of day and it is extremely difficult to grade in the dark, weather can force the maintenance crews to grade sooner than they otherwise would or later, depending on the situation. Because you can't grade mud, decisions have to be made with regard to anticipating impending weather This usually causes a great rail. if graded too early or a dead rail if graded too late.

The greater the track pitch ( angle out to the highest point, known as the crown,) from the rail, the more the dirt will move downhill towards the rail with each pass of the harrows that takes place. If they have to work the track all night, that's a lot of passes.

Grading typically is at about 10:30 AM the day of the race, or right after the last race while they still have some light.