PDA

View Full Version : Derby Futures

fasteddied
01-16-2015, 06:10 PM
I am not one looking for advise often and am extremely hard headed (according to the wife) when I get it but with that said I am interested in what other cappers think in general about betting the derby futures. I know that if your wager does not make it you lose your bet and all that good stuff, I have been betting in the game for over 30 years myself. I made 2 bets today on Bovada one at 150-1 and the other at 16-1 and have only made one future HORSE bet before in the Bc and that ran 2nd. I am asking for thoughts and possibly what you gentleman think about the whole futures endeavor as I am a Claimer,Allowance type myself but made a excellent profit following the 2yo circut last summer and probably think I am smarter than I am.

letswastemoney
01-16-2015, 08:42 PM
I wouldn't do it expecting to make a profit. I'd do it for fun to have extra incentive to root for a horse on the Derby trail.

I don't think it's possible to accurately handicap a race this early. But, I get that sometimes horses are 100/1 or something and it's tempting.

olddaddy
01-16-2015, 09:00 PM
Ill play a couple bucks on 300/1 shots, more fun and longer bang for the buck than lottery tickets.

zico20
01-16-2015, 09:08 PM
Putting a couple of bucks on horses over 100-1 isn't a bad idea. Its for entertainment purpose. If you play the lottery pick 3 it is over before you go to bed. This way at least you have something to look forward to when your horse runs in a prep race. I have not done it but if your horse makes the derby you will be real excited since no horse goes off over 50-1 nowadays.

dilanesp
01-16-2015, 10:14 PM