PDA

View Full Version : Learning and studying to become better

mikel9478
10-24-2014, 08:05 AM
Hi, I would like a bit of advice. I am new to handicapping and would like to study the fundamentals of it. As well as learn proper wagering structures and what to look for as well as avoid. I currently use the DRF to handicap, but i don't wager. What is the best way for one to learn without having to bet? I would greatly appreciate any help, thanks in advance!

Grits
10-24-2014, 08:17 AM
You've taken your first, and your best step, on a long, long journey. There are so many here that you can learn much from. Read in earnest, all that you can. ;)

And most of all? Welcome to Pace Advantage!

Tall One
10-24-2014, 08:46 AM
I currently use the DRF to handicap, but i don't wager. What is the best way for one to learn without having to bet?

Welcome aboard, Mike! Week before the BC, so you've joined up at the right time. I'd continue what you're doing until you feel comfortable with wagering. Watching the race replays at your track of choice is a great way to hone your skills as well as getting in said comfort zone.

That search tab up top is your friend...great group of posters on the forum that will help you along the way as well. :ThmbUp:

Robert Goren
10-24-2014, 08:48 AM
Normally I am not fan of this writer, but this book is a good place to start. Just be sure to get the 2004 edition and not the 1987 edition.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Best-Thoroughbred-Handicapping-Leading/dp/0970014775/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1414153927&sr=1-4

As for this board, there is a lot of good advice here, but there is also a lot of bad advice. So take every thing with a grain of salt.(except what I post).
The first thing you need to figure out before you get to far into it is whether you want to be a handicapper or a system player. Good Luck.

Capper Al
10-24-2014, 09:02 AM