PDA

View Full Version : Deep Learning

Robert Goren
08-28-2014, 08:19 AM
I just read an article about deep learning in Mother Jones. Of course the left leaning writer was at level of paranoia that he could passed a conservative. But that is another story.
The question I have to the people here who keep up on this kind of stuff is "How close are they to make it work ?" and " How close is it becoming something that I or someone else working at home with or without the aid of cloud computing could employ?" and "Is it something that could effect the betting of horse racing at some point?"

DJofSD
08-28-2014, 09:42 AM
RG, are there some links? I don't think I can fully understand your questions unless I have some background in which to frame them.

Robert Goren
08-28-2014, 10:58 AM
RG, are there some links? I don't think I can fully understand your questions unless I have some background in which to frame them.Mother Jones has not posted it for non subscribers yet. They will eventually. It is titled "Do Androids Dream of Electric Lolcats?"
They are talking about the Google Brain project that taught itself to spot a cat from YouTube images. Andrew Ng was head of the project at the time. The usual suspects, Microsoft, Yahoo, Facebook, Netflix and of course the NSA are working "deep learning" projects. The article doesn't go into detail much. The writer, Dana Liebelson, seemed more interested in pointing the potential abuses. I figured if Mother Jones is reporting it, it must be old news in the tech community.

DJofSD
08-28-2014, 11:05 AM
OK, thanks. If you can, whenever MJ does make it available, please update the thread.

I did a quick read on Wikipedia. A lot of what was there was about neural networks. So, to partially answer your questions, yes, deep learning can be applied to handicapping, and, there have been NN used in different software offerings for decades.