PDA

View Full Version : Belmont: Friday, June 6, 2014

Teach
06-06-2014, 01:08 PM
Race One:

In this maiden-special sprint on a "good" turf course (the start is everything), it's tough to gauge who will "beat" the gate and dart out for the lead. I tend to dismiss, at least in this case, both the "inside" #1 and "outside" #7 horses. That leaves me with five horses. I'm giving my tepid, lukewarm nod to :2: Spanish Armada. Call it a hunch, but as a former history teacher, I like the name...and the colt's solid turf pedigree. You can add to that the dynamic duo of Javier Castellano and Todd Pletcher.

Others worthy of consideration: :3: Sunset Glow; :4: Crown The Kitten; :5: The Truth Or Else.

Race Two

In this 6 furlongs Claimer, n3L I'm leaning toward two horses. #s 3 and 6.
I'm going to cast my lot with :6: Tempered Threat. In large part, because I like the riding skills of Jose Ortiz. Trainer Gary Gullo's having a solid meet. The gelding may go for the lead and would benefit from any residual moisture. However, I'd prefer if he came off the tailgate (lotsa early speed). :3: Reggie D might prefer a bit more distance, his only recent win, April 5 against weaker, came at 6 and 1/2 furlongs. That said, if the speed up front burns itself out, this gelding could be one of those mounting a late charge.

Also: :4: Ten Items Or Less; :5: Harlan's Hello.

Race Three

:3: In The Dark gets my nod in this claiming sprint, n2L. Dropped into the selling ranks last time and did little, albeit at a higher level. Switches now to the most capable Jose Lezcano. Any residual moisture would help this Forestry-bred colt.

Also: :7: Acigarisjustacigar; :1: Whatabouthonor; :5: Pillar of Strength

Race Four

:9: Quiet Sunshine has been razor sharp of late. Did stretch out two races back and couldn't handle the extra panel, now back at six furlongs, preferred distance. Should prevail with solid handling.

Also: :8: First Penny; :6: Twillerbee; :1: Queen Nine

Race Five: