PDA

View Full Version : The VIX hit 12 the other day

PaceAdvantage
05-14-2014, 11:34 AM
Finally it hit 12, I should say...

Those who have read my posts on the VIX these past few months know I've been eyeing a pattern since December 2012 I believe...where the VIX has been stuck in a bit of a sideways rut...and every time it hits 12, it tends to turn around...

I was thinking it wouldn't get to 12 this time around, and we'd finally see the big drop in the market everyone has been expecting...but it did get to 12, and now I'm thinking we will only see another semi-normal correction....

So I would not be a buyer at this point, with the VIX hovering around 12...and I would expect the VIX to turn around and head back up (and the thus the market will be heading DOWN) to around 21.5 to 22.5 before I would think about buying again...it will be interesting to see how the market reacts if the VIX gets to the 23 mark.

RaceBookJoe
05-14-2014, 12:09 PM
I saw that and immediately thought of your previous posts. nice

donmat
05-14-2014, 01:41 PM
The mid-term inverse vix etf ZIV broke out a few days ago. I'm thinking this is bullish for the S+P 500 http://tos.mx/dms/configShare/itemData/k/l/kl1M0b.png

PaceAdvantage
05-14-2014, 02:15 PM
That would be a break in the pattern also (dropping under 12)...and it's possible of course, but I don't see the market as a whole going all that far past where it is now...it should turn back down shortly if the VIX pattern holds.

PaceAdvantage
05-14-2014, 03:39 PM
Interesting and weak double top in the S&P daily chart yesterday...

If my VIX pattern holds, I doubt yesterday's high is broken anytime soon.

Saratoga_Mike
05-14-2014, 03:44 PM
good call

PaceAdvantage
05-14-2014, 03:46 PM
Well, not taking any credit yet...I posted at 11:30 and the market started tanking 3 hours later, so in that sense, a good call...but this is nothing. Talk to me when we retest 1820 and then 1740 on the S&P... ;)

Saratoga_Mike
05-15-2014, 11:39 AM