PDA

View Full Version : 2YO in Training

jtschmidt
04-23-2014, 01:51 PM
I went in on a trotting colt at the recent Harrisburg yearling sale. He is obviously now 2 years old and has trained in 2:15 all on his own.

I am still new to the sport and this is the first horse I have ever owned (only own 10%). Was wondering where 2:15 puts this horse at this stage in the game. Is this extremely promising? Is he on a good path? Just okay?

Open to any opinions. Im just curious and excited for him to hit the track soon.

Joey

Saratoga_Mike
04-23-2014, 01:55 PM
I went in on a trotting colt at the recent Harrisburg yearling sale. He is obviously now 2 years old and has trained in 2:15 all on his own.

I am still new to the sport and this is the first horse I have ever owned (only own 10%). Was wondering where 2:15 puts this horse at this stage in the game. Is this extremely promising? Is he on a good path? Just okay?

Open to any opinions. Im just curious and excited for him to hit the track soon.

Joey

Congrats - that's a nice mile for a 2-yr-old trotter this time of year (whether it was on a mile or half mile track). If he was well contained in the training mile and can stay flat when he races, you could have a decent one. Is he staked anywhere?

wilderness
04-23-2014, 02:05 PM
USTA Training Reports (http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=training+2014&x=30&y=13&vs=ustrotting.com&vs=AND)

mrroyboy
04-23-2014, 02:25 PM
Good luck JT. Hope to see your horse in the big races.

jtschmidt
04-23-2014, 02:26 PM
Mike: I am not exactly sure. I should probably discuss with the boss (the 80% owner who knows more about the game than me.) I would be willing to stake him to a couple races at this point.

Don: Where can I see training times? I can only find rosters.

Ray2000
04-23-2014, 04:00 PM
Joe