PDA

View Full Version : 403b plans??

Thebigguy
02-19-2014, 03:49 AM
So Im younger. Are these plans good?

My job matches up to 4%, I have been doing 6% of my own for 12 months now.

Most of it goes to the 2060 target date fund. I recently did some research and left 50% to that and broke up the other 50% Euro Pacific, Washington Mutual and another one that I can’t remember the name of right now. I want to put my $ into the more riskier ones. How do I determine that? My mindset is I only contribute what I can afford anyway, and I definitely have the gamblers mentality. Any advice? Also last year my company was bought out, we had to cash out the 403b’s that we had. The new company did not except transfers. So I had to take my money without penalty, but they took like 20% right off the top. It seemed ridiculous. Will that affect me negatively in the future?

whodoyoulike
02-19-2014, 06:59 PM
So Im younger. Are these plans good?

My job matches up to 4%, I have been doing 6% of my own for 12 months now.

Most of it goes to the 2060 target date fund. I recently did some research and left 50% to that and broke up the other 50% Euro Pacific, Washington Mutual and another one that I can’t remember the name of right now. I want to put my $ into the more riskier ones. How do I determine that? My mindset is I only contribute what I can afford anyway, and I definitely have the gamblers mentality. Any advice? Also last year my company was bought out, we had to cash out the 403b’s that we had. The new company did not except transfers. So I had to take my money without penalty, but they took like 20% right off the top. It seemed ridiculous. Will that affect me negatively in the future?

I'm not a financial planner but,

Are these plans good?

Depends on what they offer. It looks like you have a long work (career) life ahead of you. 6% is good. At least contribute the matching 4%.

I want to put my $ into the more riskier ones.