PDA

View Full Version : Business as usual

lamboguy
01-09-2014, 04:37 PM
i take abuse from people because i bet on horses to pay my bills. i applied for a mortgage and got turned down with impeccable credit and more assets than i was borrowing because my occupation is a horse bettor.

but those lovely banks got no problem giving a large corporation, Alcoa, no matter what they need.

Alcoa gets caught and they agree to pay a fine of $384 million. and go on their way, next week it will be business as usual for them. for me, the bank wants to kick me out of my house.

there is something wrong in this world!

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/01/09/us-alcoa-settlement-idUSBREA080PN20140109

TJDave
01-09-2014, 05:17 PM
i applied for a mortgage and got turned down with impeccable credit and more assets than i was borrowing because my occupation is a horse bettor.

There's got to be a better description than 'horse bettor'.

Maybe you should consider taking the loan officer to the track.

FantasticDan
01-09-2014, 05:43 PM
There's got to be a better description than 'horse bettor'Self-employed statistician. :ThmbUp:

2nd choice: Professional equine mutuel prognosticator :p

Ocala Mike
01-09-2014, 06:38 PM
Too many issues/questions on this, and none of them are my business unless I was considering you for a mortgage loan:

1. Do you file a Schedule C reporting your gambling profits to the IRS and paying taxes on them?

2. Is your operation incorporated? If so, you could provide your P/L statements and Balance Sheet.

3. Do you have a Federal Gambling Stamp, having registered as a professional gambler.

Quite frankly, I am not at all surprised that you were turned down for a mortgage loan as a ganbler; now, if you went in telling them you were a pimp, that would be a different story (guaranteed stream of income!).

;)

Jay Trotter
01-09-2014, 06:40 PM
Equine Arbitrage Capitalist

thaskalos
01-09-2014, 06:56 PM