PDA

View Full Version : Health Care Exchange (personal experience)

elysiantraveller
10-09-2013, 09:20 PM
Since I'm a licensed health insurance agent in my state I got bored last night after the tigers game and decided to hop on the exchange and peruse their plans. Here are the following steps:

1) Go to website.

2) Fill out my health and some personal (strange?) info.

3) Click Submit.

Within 30 seconds, literally, my phone rings and its a rep from a Grand Rapids, Michigan insurance agency I'm really familiar with. He is calling to help me decide a plan. I explain I was only hopping on to do some investigating. Meanwhile, I'm incredibly pissed that my number has been given away to a competitor of mine only a couple of years ago. So I keep scrolling through the plan while this ass asks me all of these personal questions, which I avoid, until I've finally scrolled through all the plans. Finally, at 9pm, after the "are you a smoker question." I unload with "Look man, I don't appreciate the fact you are calling me at 9pm from, what used to be, a rival agency. I have employer sponsored coverage and because I was curious I decided to take a look at the exchange. Finally, I AM a licensed health insurance rep in the state so A) I don't need your help and B) These plans suck..."

This guy flat hung up on me... but wait it gets better...

The past 24 hours I have had 9 solicitation calls from 5 different Agencies... How is this not an invasion of privacy?...

redshift1
10-09-2013, 10:49 PM
Tell me your surprised by the solicitations, because if you are your the only one.

TJDave
10-09-2013, 11:12 PM
Tell me your surprised by the solicitations, because if you are your the only one.