PDA

View Full Version : a question for the group

senortout
09-14-2013, 03:38 PM
This is just a general observation and perhaps I'm becoming a bit 'gun-shy' but doesn't it seem like almost every race, some jock dismounts for seemingly no reason whatsoever, and why is this allowed....110-115 lbs off seems an unfair advantage is this something jockeys are hoping helps their horse? It sometimes happens with a horse that seemed quite calm going to the gate, otherwise, I could understand the occurence. In the race just off, Gomez came off and remounted again almost immediately, to no benefit that I could see. (Fifth at Belmont)

Overlay
09-14-2013, 04:08 PM
I'm no expert in equine physiology, but it would seem to me that having the jockey dismount at the gate and then remount again (especially if there were no apparent reason -- as you mentioned, to calm the horse down, for example -- for doing it,) would be more physically stressful/taxing for the horse than if the jockey had just maintained his position on the horse's back.

senortout
09-14-2013, 04:47 PM
What you say makes sense but its still a nervous narvis sorta manuever and I don't like seeing it so much...

Another way of stating it...would you get off the bet you just made on the horse if you saw that happening?

Stillriledup
09-14-2013, 04:53 PM
This is just a general observation and perhaps I'm becoming a bit 'gun-shy' but doesn't it seem like almost every race, some jock dismounts for seemingly no reason whatsoever, and why is this allowed....110-115 lbs off seems an unfair advantage is this something jockeys are hoping helps their horse? It sometimes happens with a horse that seemed quite calm going to the gate, otherwise, I could understand the occurence. In the race just off, Gomez came off and remounted again almost immediately, to no benefit that I could see. (Fifth at Belmont)