PDA

View Full Version : Need Capping Help, I'm getting detroyed !!!

SportsYoYo
03-06-2004, 02:39 PM
My goal is to turn horse racing into a profit. I have tried a few books on handicapping, most by Dick Mitchell, but they were unable to give me an edge. I used trackmaster and Dick Mitchells software, but still didn't win or even break even.

I hope to get some pushes in the right direction from others who were in my situation but are now doing well. Do you use a program ?

I know I'm a rookie but I am serious about wanting to improve. What steps do I need to take ?

All suggestions appreciated.

cato
03-06-2004, 03:45 PM
FIrst, stop betting real money (to be continued)

Cato

JimG
03-06-2004, 07:26 PM
Originally posted by SportsYoYo
What steps do I need to take ?

1. Stop Betting

2. Read handicapping books (do a search here for recommendations)

3. Find a mentor who is winning and learn what you can from them about handicapping and betting.

Jim

GameTheory
03-06-2004, 08:04 PM
... and be prepared to work at it for *years* before you can be consistently profitable...

Zman179
03-06-2004, 09:51 PM
And to think that I consider this game to be an "expensive hobby".

It is quite true that you have the potential to become a true winner at this game, but you'll have to invest a whole lot of time in order to do so.

One professional handicapper that I know who makes a living at this game spends about 10 hours a day at the track from the morning workouts until the 9th race. Then, he goes over charts and videotapes of races when he gets home. And this is all just for the NYRA circuit, nothing else.

I don't know about you, but compared to a lifestyle like that, there's NO SHOT of me quitting my day job. Not saying you'd do the same thing, but I think that it would be safe to say that there is no short cut to being consistently profitable at the races.

Zman (a day job is my 1/9 shot)

kingfin66
03-07-2004, 01:12 AM