PDA

View Full Version : Positive Critics of Handicapping Software

Capper Al
08-21-2013, 07:24 PM
I'd like to open a dialog about the various software and data packages available and only discuss their virtues and how they work. As a fellow programmer, I was a little hard on spending the big bucks at first thinking that I also could write my own stuff and save money. Now after five years or more of development and realizing that I have to do a re-write of my software package since I've learned so much more from coding, maybe buying into a system wasn't a bad idea. I believe the researcher in me would like to pull data down into a spreadsheet and hunt for patterns. These may be called using filters by software vendors. There are at least two categories of software-- those that only work with Pace and Speed, and others that are comprehensive and take into account more than Pace and Speed. I'm here to listen to those who have good things to say. And ask a few follow up questions.

JJMartin
08-21-2013, 08:33 PM
I can do anything with my Excel program, let me know what you want to do as long as you use bris files. Pm me.

Augenj
08-21-2013, 08:51 PM
I have something I'm going to present here in the next few weeks and it's pretty comprehensive - jockey, trainer, speed, finish, workouts, lead pack, and closer. After working on this for several decades, to my dismay I found that finding "patterns" in the past over hundreds of races is no guarantee that they will carry forward into the future. You need to apply these patterns to the future in dry runs and select those that stay profitable, if any do remain. More on this later.

Track Collector
08-21-2013, 10:38 PM