PDA

View Full Version : Perfect example of total LIBERAL control...Detroit

sammy the sage
07-19-2013, 08:17 AM
what it has become w/the fall-out..bankruptcy

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/detroit-bankruptcy-own-worst-enemy-101005360.html

Clocker
07-19-2013, 11:37 AM
The next step is bankruptcy court. When the judge there starts talking about cutting city jobs, wages, benefits and pensions, the unions will be screaming for a federal bail out.

highnote
07-19-2013, 12:10 PM
Some see bankruptcy. Others see opportunity.

A startup business or a business willing to move to Detroit could get the sweetheart deal of a lifetime.

As the saying goes, the best time to invest is when there is blood in the streets.

highnote
07-19-2013, 12:18 PM
This article says what I was thinking:

http://finance.yahoo.com/blogs/daily-ticker/detroit-worse-gets-better-151715819.html

If I was a resident I would try to buy up some of the abandoned houses in adjacent lots and turn it into farmland. If it is still possible to buy condemned homes for $1 it could work. Then you could demolish the homes and sell the scrap -- assuming they haven't already been stripped.

If you could get a few acres of farmland in the center of Detroit you could sell fresh produce or meat direct to restaurants and butcher shops. Over time you might even be able to get 40 or more acres.

It would be like Detroit starting over from scratch.

I don't know if it's practical, but if I lived there I would find the opportunities. If not, then I would be like the other 800,000 people and move to the sun belt.

so.cal.fan
07-19-2013, 12:21 PM
I hope they stop bailing these disasters out with our tax dollars.

That said, Obama probably will, just in time to claim the Dems "saved" Detroit? It's probably on the table for them. They will come up with some fake "hail Mary pass" at the last minuet to try AGAIN to fool the low information complacent voters.

Tom
07-19-2013, 12:38 PM