PDA

View Full Version : Protecting the Public: Scofield, refuses at Belmont again.

Stillriledup
06-02-2013, 03:18 PM
Ok, now Scofield refused in his previous start and he ran today and guess what he refused again.

Now, i'm no rocket scientist (although i occasionally play one right here at PA) but wouldnt it be a good idea to have had Scofield run for purse money only today? Belmont has no problem 'protecting the public' by offering no wagering on a horse who's running without a shoe, but what about this situation, isnt it somewhat similar?

Augenj
06-02-2013, 04:54 PM
I'd rather see him have more gate training, over and over.

Stillriledup
06-02-2013, 05:30 PM
I'd rather see him have more gate training, over and over.

He did have a gate work and i guess they thought they fixed the problem, i think that Scofield's problem isnt coming out of the gate, its actually running. he breaks fine, its just that he stops after he comes out.

Time to send him to Michael "The Genius" Dickinson. :D

cj
06-02-2013, 07:21 PM
Horses like this used to get barred from racing.

chadk66
06-02-2013, 07:30 PM
yep and I trained one such horse. :)

Stillriledup
06-02-2013, 07:31 PM
Horses like this used to get barred from racing.

There was a crazy horse in So Cal that used to refuse, he did it a few times and then they gave him to Doug ONeill and Doug got him to break out of there, and he went wire to wire. I cant remember the name of the horse though.

pondman
06-02-2013, 07:36 PM
Ok, now Scofield refused in his previous start and he ran today and guess what he refused again.

Now, i'm no rocket scientist (although i occasionally play one right here at PA) but wouldnt it be a good idea to have had Scofield run for purse money only today?

No. If you want to take him at 18-1 go for it. How about just ruling the horse off the track entirely? Make them take it to Finger Lakes.

Stillriledup
06-02-2013, 07:48 PM