PDA

View Full Version : Iraq Re-construction contracts.

Suff
02-11-2004, 05:48 PM
For those that asked and are genuinely curious.

I'm in-line to go to work in Iraq. A company in Kuwait is processing my VISA to work in Iraq. Basra. 80 miles north of Kuwait city. 300 miles from Baghdad. This is the opportunity that is lilkey to have me leaving inside of 2 weeks. Perhaps as soon as 8 days.

I've quieted on the updates because they are coming in via e-mail rapidly. And even more so. A decision like this is very personal and serious and I do not want to put myself at risk of discussing my thoughts publicly at this point...and the direct information I have can be very unsettling. At a time like this a man can need to be left alone with his thoughts.

The internet allows me to be around, But I'm studying so much information right now,, I'm all consumed. Last night I jumped in the ARTICLE RULES thread just to post something and get my mind off it for a couple of hours.

I have another opportunity to go as a GOVT Contract employee in an unknown area ( unkown at this time). Thats an offer I have in Hand .

Its unsafe for private industry. Thats #1.

Now your looking at providing CAMPS, (min cities) for the Major projects.. securing transportation routes... the facilities...

You get the picture. Impossible in an urban environment and expensive in a Rural Environment.

No banking system.....
No qualifed contractors for scope of work.
100's of issues being addressed moment to moment.

ljb
02-11-2004, 06:06 PM
Suff,
You da man. Good Luck.
My wife worries about your well being.

Suff
02-11-2004, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by ljb
Suff,
You da man. Good Luck.
My wife worries about your well being.

How touching. Thank her. Thats the kindest thing ever said to me on PA. It had a humanizing effect on my relationships here..

John
02-11-2004, 09:31 PM
Hey SUFF,

Before you leave can I borrow that book.

BETTING ON MYSELF
Adventures of a Horseplayer and Publisher
By Steven Crist