PDA

View Full Version : Halliburton--

andicap
02-02-2004, 02:36 PM
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=808&e=2&u=/dowjones/200402020039000029

bill
02-02-2004, 02:41 PM
the two employees cheny and who;)

ljb
02-02-2004, 02:56 PM
andicap,
I urge you to use caution here. PA may deem this a numeric post and JR doesn't like posts that can be read elsewhere. And those that reflect poorly on "The Great One or his entourage" receive special scorn.
;) ljb

andicap
02-02-2004, 09:15 PM
sorry for the double post -- browser problem:o

delayjf
02-03-2004, 11:52 AM
See I told you so, everybody should have sold their homes and invested in Halliburton stock. Can you emagine how many millions Cheny is making on this deal?? If only we could prove it, surely millions of dollars in profits can't be that hard to find.

andicap
02-03-2004, 12:46 PM
OK, I cover the media for a living so I know what I'm talking about (to some extent) here.

People talk about the "liberal" media and I guess they generally mean about socio-cultural issues (like abortion, gay rights, etc.) but in the Halliburton case, the media was its usual self, far from liberal. Not necessarily conservative, but its typical naive, lazy self.

Before the war when I broached the Halliburton theory to network people -- Cheney's war to enrich Halliburton, Bectel and other huge corporations -- they laughed and said it was a loony conspiracy theory, they would never do that.

The mainstream media is not guilty of any ideological biases, but they are incredibly naive and are often unwilling to go beyond what's near the surface in the search for an easy headline that draws readers/ratings.
Conspiracy theories are usually false, but as Johnny Fever said, "Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they are not out to get out."

BillW
02-03-2004, 01:15 PM
Andi,

I assume you have done your homework and realize that this $16 million amounts to approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes of gross revenue for Halliburton?

Bill